Índice: Open Educational Resources: Images

Search Engines and Collections of Images

Everypixel
Searches in 50 image banks. It is necessary to narrow the search to “free only” resources to find only reusable images.
Flickr
Before doing the search, select the type of user license. Clicking on “Any License” will display all the licenses. Select “All Creative Commons.”
Foter
All images are reusable.
Openclipart
Vector graphics and images mostly in the Public Domain.
Openverse
Photographs, images and audio. All content is licensed under a Creative Commons License or is in the Public Domain.
Pexels
Except for certain sponsored content, all the images have a Creative Commons Zero license and their reuse is permitted.
Pixabay
All images are reusable.
Pxhere
Most of the images are in the public domain. The type of licence is indicated when the image is displayed.
Stock-up
Integrated search in 26 image banks. Reuse is permitted.
Unsplash
All the images have a Creative Commons Zero license and their reuse is permitted.

Creative Commons Search
Search engine for images with Creative Commons licenses.
Europeana
Collector of materials that come from museums, archives and libraries in European Union countries (images, sound recordings, texts, videos and 3D objects). Contains reusable and non-reusable images. After doing a search, you must filter in the section, “Can it be reused?”
Google images
Once you do the search for an image, in “Tools,” select “right of use” to filter by type of user license.

CSIRO Science Image
Collection of science and nature images. All the images have Creative Commons licenses and can be reused.
Creative Commons Collections
Museum collections and other Creative Commons collections.

ART MUSEUM COLLECTIONS:

Art Institute of chicago
Images from the museum's collection. When the image is displayed, the type of licence is indicated.
J. Paul Getty Museum (Los Ángeles)
Images from the museum's collection, most of which are reusable. When the image is displayed, the type of licence is indicated.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Images from the museum's collection. When the image is displayed, the type of licence is indicated.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (Nueva York)
Images from the museum's collection, most of which are reusable. When the image is displayed, the type of licence is indicated.
National Gallery of Art (Washington)
Images from the museum's collection are mostly reusable. When the image is displayed, the type of licence is indicated and the citation can also be downloaded if necessary.
Paris Musées
Images from museum collections in Paris. Cretaive Commons Zero licence.
Statens Museum for Kunst (Copenhague)
Images from the museum's collection in the public domain and other licences.

HISTORICAL IMAGE COLLECTIONS:

Biblioteca Digital de Madrid
Collections of the Regional Library of Madrid and historical institutions of the Community of Madrid. Licence: Public Domain.
Biblioteca Digital Memoria de Madrid
Digital collection of archives, libraries and museums of Madrid City Council. Creative Commons licences.
Biblioteca Virtual de Defensa
Collections of Archives, libraries and museums of the Ministry of Defence. It includes printed books and manuscripts, cartographic materials, drawings, photographs, musical scores, museum pieces and documentary series related to different scientific expeditions (Malaspina, Indies, Pacific) as well as official and scientific publications. Each work indicates the Creative Commons licence it holds.
Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico
Collection of digital facsimile reproductions of manuscripts, printed books, historical photographs, cartographic materials, scores and other materials that are preserved in memory institutions (archives, libraries and museums) and are part of the Spanish Bibliographic Heritage. Most of the documents are licensed under Creative Commons CC0 BY.

Flaticon
Repositories of icons with different kinds of licenses. When the image is displayed, check the license type on the side.
Iconfinder
Repositories of icons with different kinds of licenses. Filter by “license type” after doing the search.
Freepik
Repositories of icons with different kinds of licenses. When the image is displayed, check the license type on the side.

How to search for reusable images on search engines

When you search for images on search engines which include reusable and non-reusable images, it is important to filter the search by obtaining results with images that permit their use.

Locate these filters when you search.

An example of a filter by license on Flickr.

Create images with Artificial Intelligence

Selection of generative AI tools developed by UC3M Digital. Each tool indicates whether it is free or not.

How to cite the source of an image

If you have found an image that you can reuse, you must cite the source.

Example of how to cite an image:

Giraffe. Badjonni. CC BY-SA 2.0. https://flic.kr/p/NBmf5

Title, Author, License, URL

FIND OUT MORE:

Creative Commons: best practices for attribution
Consult the library’s Referencing guide if you need to cite images according to international guidelines (APA, Chicago, IEEE, UNE-ISO 690:2013).

CITATION GENERATORS

http://www.openwa.org/open-attrib-builder/
Automatically generates Creative Commons and Public Domain citations. To use it, you must complete a form with information about the resource.

Reverse image search

If you have an image whose source you can’t remember, do a reverse search to locate the original source and see the conditions of use.

Google images: click on the camera icon to search for an image. Help.
TinEye: do image searches on the basis of an image that they have provided you. Help.
Bing:click on the camera icon to search for an image.

Image Edting

If you want to adapt an image, as long as the license permits it, there are free editing tools.

Befunky
Gimp
Photopea
Pixlr
Removebg
tool for eliminating backgrounds from images.

Open Educational Resources: Images

IMAGES